Country programs: duration and phases, selection criteria

Duration and phases 

A country program of the World Federation of Hemophilia (WFH) is implemented for a period of two to five years, depending on the needs of the country, the goals of the program, the level of success reached, and WFH program funding. It is carried out in three phases: 


During the assessment phase, WFH program staff gathers information and establishes communications and an ongoing working relationship with both the national member organization (NMO) and the key medical leaders of the country. WFH develops closer ties with the country as it demonstrates distinctive initiative and motivation to improve care for bleeding disorders. Country visits allow the WFH to observe first-hand the needs and realities of the country and to determine appropriate program objectives. 


In this phase, the WFH implements planned activities that address the specific areas that need to be supported and strengthened. Progress is monitored and evaluated by program staff and expert volunteers on an annual basis. 


When the program’s objectives are reached and the results are considered to be sustainable, the WFH begins a gradual phase-out. Some countries only need WFH support in one or two areas of bleeding disorders care and can then manage on their own.

Selection criteria

To become a Country Program, the national member organization (NMO) or hemophilia treatment centre (HTC) must have:

  • Skilled and committed leaders (person with hemophilia or medical professional)
  • Winning coalitions of people with hemophilia and/or treaters with active volunteer or staff capacity to initiate and carry out activities
  • Institutional and volunteer-based support
  • Potential for the program to have a positive and sustainable impact in the country

Though many NMOs and HTCs meet the above criteria, it is ultimately WFH resources that determine which are selected.


Updated May 2012